Alpine Seasons Update

My friend Kelly recently suggested to me that we have a SAL for Alpine Seasons.  I thought this was a great idea that came along right when I was trying to decide what to work on next.  Alpine Seasons seems so overwhelming sometimes that I don’t really want to get it out and work on it.  Plus, I feel guilty about it since I started it like 5 years ago so avoiding it makes me feel better about it somehow.

Anyway, Kelly’s suggestion got me fired up to work on it again….  so here is a progress pic taken today:

2546864750029744911AKYLQk_fs

The fabric color is a little off – I’m actually using the recommended fabric.

So, I’m working on the mountain area of the bottom left of the design. Working on this in quarters seems to work really well for me because when I finally get through a section, I reward myself by working on the inner borders, which are really repetitive and easy compared to the confetti-ish mountain areas.

So, my approach with a big design like this is to pick what symbol I’m going to work on, then highlight in yellow, then fill those stitches in with blue highlighter as I work. It helps me keep track of where I am, and having the blue/green dots on the chart helps me to verify that I’m in the right spot when I get to later symbols.

2160441550029744911ThmxWj_fs

I’m thinking its OK to post the chart pic since the symbol list isn’t shown and you can’t really see the symbols anyway… if anyone thinks this is wrong, let me know and I can take it down.

So anyway… I’ll be working on this for a while. Ideally I’d like to get this section done before I move on… especially since I’m not working right now.

Speaking of which… I have an interview next week! Even though I’m enjoying my “time off,” having an income again would be a really good thing!

7 thoughts on “Alpine Seasons Update

  1. What a fabulous piece! I love choosing larger pieces, but it is difficult to keep the motivation going when they take so long. Good luck with your interview!

  2. It’s so nice to see this piece again – it’s way more than I would ever attempt to stitch, but I bet it’s going to be really stunning when it’s finished. Good luck with getting back into stitching this piece.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your interview next week!

    {{{hugs}}}

  3. I enjoy pics of this design so much. I don’t think I will ever stitch it, though I admire it very much. You are making wonderful progress. Keep it up and you will be finished before you know it.

    Good luck with the interview!

  4. I use the same trick when I have to deal with confetti. And I’m actually using it now on CaHRH, there’s a lot of jumping around on that first block. I’ve found I stitch faster when I complete one color at a time.

  5. That is awesome progress – I really love those borders, so pretty! Good luck at your interview. 🙂

Leave a Reply

