Sweetheart Tree Biscornu Progress

Here is my current progress on the Sweetheart Tree Stitchers Favorite Biscornu.  I really love the ivy border!  This kit, in addition to beads, came with teeny little buttons that you sew on.  I finished the fob version of this as part of the 2009 Ornament project.

So far, this has been a travel piece if I’m out of town on the weekend or on vacation.  I’ll be going to San Fransisco in a couple of weeks, so I’ll probably get more done then.

2781005440029744911UNVnZF_fs
Sweetheart Tree Stitchers Favorite Biscornu

I’ve made a little more progress on VS HSS, but mainly the over one viney border around the upper alphabet – not really enough to post a new picture.

I’m contemplating starting the Lizzie Kate Living With Charm double flip banner.  I’ve got fabric but not all of the overdyes that are called for.  I’m seriously considering just using DMC to stitch this.  It calls for 5 skeins of Gentle Art and 16 skeins of Weeks and I’m estimating it would be around $40 for fibers.  That doesn’t seem unreasonable, but I’m on a limited income right now and think about how far I could take that in a grocery store.  🙂  In pics I’ve seen online, I do see some variation in colors, but not so much that I think that the final product would seriously suffer from lack of overdyes.  What do you think?

9 thoughts on “Sweetheart Tree Biscornu Progress

    • I don’t scan and email cross stitch charts as it is copyright infringement and it is considered to be theft from the designer. I can recommend a store where you can purchase the design with a credit card if you like.

  1. Aha! A question I am qualified to answer. I’ve just finished the 4th word and I’d say it would stitch up just as nicely with DMC only. The colors LK is using aren’t highly variegated. Pull the conversion of course, and depending on how it looked I might tweak the colors down a bit to be more pastel. But that really depends on what you’re using for base fabric. I’m using Bo Peep Pink which is super pastel, if you stitch it on Lambswool a brighter palette would work better. IMHO

  2. Pretty biscornu! 🙂 And, REALLY to the person asking for a scan?!?!

    I think the LK will look equally fabulous with DMC. But do pull the colors. I’ve noticed that some designers use “stock” conversions rather than actually pulling the fibers to see what works well with the design. No idea if LK is one of those, but I’m always suspect of conversions.

  3. Love the biscournu pattern! So pretty – might have to do that one myself some day. 🙂

    I’m not really familiar with the LK piece you are asking about – but I sometimes compromise in situations like that, where the fibers are more than I want to spend. I pick a small number of the fibers, maybe the ones that are the most dominant or the ones used to stitch a special feature and just buy those. I’m cheap and hate to buy a whole skein of $5 thread for 16 stitches or something like that – so I’d analyze the chart and see where you think the special fibers add the most and buy those and use DMC for the rest.

  4. The biscornu is looking lovely. I always go through and look at overdyed colours and check whether they really have a definite shade difference. Some of them just don’t have any variation so therefore it seems silly to go with anything other than DMC. Just adding 1 or 2 overdyed at stragetic bits would look great and unique.

  5. How did I miss this blog post? I love the Sweetheart Tree biscornus, and I have you to thank for that LOL

    This one is so pretty! I can’t wait to see your finish. Are you going to attach a hanger, so that you can hang it out of reach of your kitties?

Leave a Reply

