Tree Frog Finish and VS Heirloom Stitching Sampler Start

I finally got a decent shot of the Tree Frog finish – framed by me!

2738374430029744911nIKPfF_ph

Here is my start on VS Heirloom Stitching Sampler!  If you’re reading this in Google Reader, I originally posted the wrong picture here and reader seems to display the first post, rather than the most recent and updated version, you may need to go to my blog to see the VS HSS picture……

2477365170029744911pCooTf_fs

Its fun to stitch but I feel like the colors so far appear a little washed out on the recommended raw linen.  I originally got a piece of a lighter fabric, then thought that the ecru and cream colors would blend into the fabric too much and one of the things I like about this is that the hardanger and specialty stitches in the lighter colors really stand out on the recommended fabric.  I doubt I’ll start over, and I’m hoping that once I get some lighter and brighter fiber on the fabric, I’ll be a little happier with it.  What do you guys think?

8 thoughts on “Tree Frog Finish and VS Heirloom Stitching Sampler Start

  1. I love the frogs! It turned out so well.

    I found that my floss seemed to blend into the fabric when I first started stitching HSS but as I stitched more, it stood out more. I also didn’t mind that the colours didn’t really “pop” as I wanted a more antique-y look. You’ve made a great start!

  2. I agree with Christine too – also I think it will pop a little better once you get those over-one flowers around the top in – the greens and rose colors add a bit of color to offset the rest.

    Nice progress Holly! 🙂

  3. Love the frogs. Well done on the framing! Like the others said, I think HSS is supposed to have that antique look. Christine’s certainly turned out spectacular. I’m sure yours will, too!

  4. I think you did a great job on your framing of the frogs. I’m sure it will be much treasured by the recipient.

    I agree with the others – I think once you work some more on the piece, it will stand out more. I can’t wait to see more progress on this gorgeous design.

Leave a Reply

