Knots, Knots, Knots…..

So, I took the plunge and started Teresa Layman‘s Snow White Rose Red this weekend…

2312811980029744911DTgJfC_ph

It started a little rough (see white stitches on the roof), but I’m now getting pretty good at colonial knots… after never having done them before. I could never figure out the stitch diagram and couldn’t figure out why so many people claim that they are so much easier than french knots…. Anyway… I’m pretty happy with this and it’s not really as tedious as I thought it would be. Its kind of nice not to have to count anything. 😀 I’m not totally happy with the door, which is filled in completely with french knots. There is lots of detail on there with lines, cross braces, handles and bolts in the door… but it is-what-it-is as these buggers are a PITA to pull out.   There’s also a bench underneath the left window that isn’t showing up too well.

I just remembered that I signed up for a knitting class that starts tomorrow! The class is at Erica’s Craft and Sewing Center in South Bend.  The class project is a scarf.  I bought the yarn required a couple of weeks ago and got something that I thought would match my winter coat, which is kind of a chocolate brown color:

2019277080029744911ywrTyj_ph

I’m kind of surprised that it only calls for two skeins…  Anyway I can kind of knit, but can’t cast on.  I can do entire rows of knit stitches and purl stitches, but can’t alternate between the two without a knotted mess.  So, I figure some instructions and hands-on guidance will help.

Went and saw Funny People last night… pretty good and kind of interesting to see Adam Sandler in a more serious role, even though it was still a funny movie.  Man…. he’s starting to look older tho!

5 thoughts on “Knots, Knots, Knots…..

  1. I think Snow White is looking good. Once it’s all finished it’ll probably all look fine. Not that it doesn’t look fine now, but finished things always look better.

    Love the scarf colors. Me, I would’ve picked whatever flashy color caught my eye ignoring the fact that I look like hell in that color and it doesn’t match anything I own. +1 to you for thinking your color choice through. lol

  2. I think your little knot piece is coming along great! Kudos to you for trying something new. I bet that would make a lovely flat fold to put out around the winter season. How do you think you’ll finish it? 🙂

  3. Holy knots Batman! That is going to be such a great finish and what an accomplishment – really neat project. I also love knitting – I live about an hour from the Patons/Bernat factory outlet and they are having their annual tent sale this month, seeing your shetland chunky is making me think about a road trip!!

  4. Love your WIP…..so cute! And bless you w/those knots! Me and any kind of knots did NOT get along! LOL

    The colors of the soon to be scarf are luscious!!!

  5. I love that wool! Paton’s is my favorite brand of yarn. Good luck with the scarf!

    You’re a more patient woman than I with that knot piece! It’s coming along beautifully!

Leave a comment