Alpine Seasons Progress and Some Goals

I’ve been stitching exclusively on Chatelaine’s Alpine Seasons since last week and am having fun with it.  I’ve been working my way through the mountains and trees in the upper left hand corner and here’s how it looks so far:

2194680390029744911MpFHgV_fs

I have a goal of finishing up this section before I work on anything else….  At that point I’ll decide if I want to work on more borders in another quadrant or move onto another piece.  I really only have one other WIP right now, so I think something new is in order when I’m ready to move on.

A couple of days ago, I went through all of my old Just Cross Stitch Ornament issues and picked out some ornaments I’d like to do this year.  At Christmas, I wished I had more stitched ornaments on my tree, so have toyed with the idea of doing an ornament a month in 2009.  I came up with 7 and made up a list of supplies I’d need and headed off to House of Stitches on Saturday morning and had a very sucessful trip!  I found everything I needed, got a piece of fabric for Chatelaine’s Alhambra, some pretty gingham linen (called for in one of the ornaments), two JCS ornament issues that I didn’t have, and Mill Hill diamond ornament.  When I got to the checkout, I ended up spending less than I’d estimated, AND received these great “customer appreciation” gifts.  The ruler is magnetic.  They are so cute:

2920167090029744911FygePs_fs

Last night I ran across Victoria Sampler’s January/February newsletter and saw that Thea has released the most BEAUTIFUL, HUGE sampler, called Heirloom Stitching Sampler… It’s her 100th publication and this sampler is a full 31″ long!!  It has almost 40 different specialty stitches!  I absolutely love it and just know that I’ll have to stitch it at some point.

In the meantime, I’m trying to be patient while I wait for details for the Nashua Celebration of Needlework!

Thanks for visiting and thank you for all of the comments that you leave… I love reading them

10 thoughts on “Alpine Seasons Progress and Some Goals

  1. Wow Holly – your Alpine Seasons is coming along. Are you going to be starting Alhambra soon? Both Melissa and I are also working on it, so you’re in good company! 🙂

    Funny you should mention Nassau – I’m thinking I might actually go in April – no big family vacations planned because of the (hopefully) move – so maybe I can sneak it in?

  2. Alpine Seasons looks fantastic!

    I recently finished one of those Mill Hill diamonds and was really pleased how easy it was and with how gorgeous it turned out!

  3. Wow! Your Alpine Seasons looks fabulous! It makes me want to run out and get the pattern and all those expensive specialty threads and beads. I have heard that others are also doing an ornament a month ths year and I ran across a SAL message board set up for this purpose somewhere. I would love to do this, but I really need to finish the ones that I have already stitched first :-).

  4. Holly, thanks for posting about the Heirloom Stitching Sampler! I hadn’t heard about this design and it’s gorgeous. It would be a lovely gift for my mom, as her mother taught her how to stitch and she in turn taught me. My grandmother was overjoyed that I love needlework.

    Alpine Seasons looks great! What a detailed piece.

Leave a Reply

