I will never be a seamstress…..

(*(*&(*$%%^&*( !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

I suck at sewing.  I am trying to attach lining fabric to my Where Stitchers Gather and I hate the way its looking so far.  The directions say to use a slip stitch, but what I’m basically doing is a running stitch between the folded over pieces of fabric.. the stitches are invisible, just like they should be, but I’m having a terrible time keeping the fold of the lining fabric parallel to the fold of the stitched fabric. 

So.. I’m about to pull out the stitches and try again… oh yeah and I suck at mitering corners too.

I’m really good with glue….

This was supposed to be a gift but i have the feeling it’ll end up hidden in shame deep within my stash where I’ll only come across it every 10 years or so.

6 thoughts on “I will never be a seamstress…..

  1. I’m sure it’s not as bad as you think – that’s sweet of Susan to offer to help out 🙂 If you get really desperate and want to throw in the towel, you could always use Vonna’s finishing services? But I’m sure you won’t need that in the end, ‘cos it’ll be just beautiful – and I’m sure the person it is intended for will love it either way 😀

  2. I also vote it probably isn’t as bad as you think. That design is too cute – don’t you dare go hiding it in your stash for 10 yrs!

  3. Ditto all of the above – and remember that we all struggle with this stuff. After 25+ years, I still put linings in backwards, sew right sides to wrong sides, and iron holes in satin!

    You have a gorgeous blog here, Holly.

Leave a Reply

