Weekend Report – Trip to Chicago / Olympics

I had a fun weekend, especially after this long recovery I’m still dealing with.  We watched the Opening Ceremonies of the Olympics Friday night and loved it… especially the fireworks!  Wow… I would’ve loved to have been there.

Saturday we went to Chicago to spend the day with DBF’s sister and her boyfriend. We picked her up at Union Station then went to the Intelligentsia coffee house in Lincoln Park, where she has her paintings on display, and met her boyfriend there.  We had never met him before, but really liked him.  He was really sweet with DBF’s sister – affectionate and stuff, but besides that he was just a really cool guy.  We had lunch at Nancy’s Pizza (“Home of the Original Stuffed Pizza”), splurged on some ice cream, looked around in some shops, then the four of us went to Navy Pier to see Cirque Shanghai.

The show was at the Skyline Stage on the pier…  it has a roof but is open on the sides and it was just a perfect summer evening (We went to the 6:00 show).  Before DBF and I headed home, we were hungry so went to the Weiner’s Circle– a hot dog joint that DBF worked at for years while he was going to college.  I was thrilled to see that they now serve veggie burgers!  It could’ve been the best veggie burger I’ve ever had…  oh and the cheddar fries, which we shared, were yummy too!  We were there around 9:00, so the place was still pretty tame.  I hear it gets pretty wild there when the bars close.

I did get some stitching in on Sunday.  I started Little House Needleworks Thread Gathering… there’s only about 20 stitches in it at the moment – I’ll post a progress pic later in the week.

Did anyone watch the Greece vs China beach volleyball on Sunday?  What was up with those announcers?  They were obsessed with how many times the Chinese women hugged each other and talked about how the number of hugs (aka the “Hug Count”) accounted for their win in the first match…  They showed slow motion footage of the women, slick with sweat and wearing bikini style bathing suits, hugging, and went on and on about it.  WTF?  Does anyone who saw this think I’m over-reacting by thinking their banter was unprofessional and just plain in poor taste??

3 thoughts on “Weekend Report – Trip to Chicago / Olympics

  1. I’m glad that you had a good time in Chicago.

    I only watched a little of the Opening Ceremonies, so I missed out on most of it. I didn’t see any of the beach volleyball, so can’t comment on the announcers, but I never did take the female beach volleyballers seriously, anyway – is it really necessary to wear such skimpy outfits?

  2. I missed that game completely. I too don’t quite ‘get’ beach volleyball, but I can add that my 38 year old brother suggested they lose the bikinis completely, since they’re practically wearing nothing. 🙂

  3. Your trip to Chicago sounds fun! How cool that you can take advantage of such a great city whenever you want! 🙂

    I didn’t see the Greece/China VB game, but I’ve been watching a bit of the Americans. Man, are they GOOD! I am amazed at how two ppl can cover the court like that, in SAND. And their bodies! Wow… Did you see the Men’s relay in swimming?? OMG! Amazing–one of the most exciting sporting events I’ve seen. I’ve been learning to swim competitively, that’s going to be my sport at the next Transplant Games! I LOVE it! 🙂 Great exercise too.

Leave a Reply

