A New Blog Feature….

I’m really starting to feel like a slacker stitching blogger. Most of what I stitch are BAPs and I don’t have a whole lot of progress to show on a daily, or even weekly basis. I love to look at finished stuff on other people’s blogs, and figure they’d like to see the same on mine.

It is for this reason that I’ve decided to start a series of posts called “Finished Project of the Week.” Every week that I cannot share any major current stitchy progress, I’ll post one of my older, finished projects and talk about it for my readers’ stitchy pleasure.

This week’s Finished Project of the Week is Teresa Wentzler’s Diamonds in Squares.  This is stitched on 25 count antique white lugana and was a lot of fun to stitch. I like doing geometric patterns as they aren’t too counting-intensive once you get the borders laid out. One of the things I loved about this piece was the bold geometrics combined with more natural looking leafy themes. I really love the pillow finish shown in the above link, however I cannot sew….

I had the idea one day while surfing around the net to see what Sudberry had to offer as a finishing option and found this cute little table that was the perfect size! I mounted the finished project and inserted it into this table I loved it! Its in my living room near the couch, and most often serves as a place for my laptop to sit when not in use.  (Yes, its under glass).  The link above shows the design in more detail than is available in this picture…

31807648yJDvGdoEWd_ph

In other news, a potential disaster was averted last night…. We here in Northern Indiana had a line of severe weather including thousands of lightning strikes, high winds, and cloud rotation moving across the state. The local stations interrupted regular programming with hours of continuous severe weather coverage. We watched a wide red band with little tornado graphics move toward LaPorte, Indiana. DBF asked me if I was worried about the House of Stitches. I had an image of tangled floss hanging from tree limbs and patterns and stitchy gadgets laying under downed trees and power lines….  the horror!

Fortunately, after passing through LaPorte, and while heading our way, the weather people said that no major damage was done in the downtown LaPorte area…

11 thoughts on “A New Blog Feature….

  1. That table is stunning! Thank you for sharing it. =) I’m glad you are ok after the storms. We heard about how bad the storms were on the news this morning. 😦

  2. I was thinking about you with all those storms! I’m glad you survived! Must’ve been exciting! It’s finally somewhat hot here. We’ve had a really cool summer. 😦

  3. This is one of my favorite TW patterns! The intricacy of it is awesome, as are the colors and other design elements. I love how it looks in the table, Holly. Thanks for sharing it here.

  4. I love your Diamond in Squares and in fact it inspired me to snap up a glasstop end table about that size when I saw it at a rummage sale a few years back… It is still waiting for me to start and finish Diamonds in Squares though! lol

Leave a Reply

