Rough Week

I had surgery on Tuesday.  I’d rather not put it out what the issue was, but it was a planned surgery, involved a 5″ incision, full anesthesia, and an overnight hospital stay.  DBF was with me the whole time and was great.  The hospital experience itself was great… I ended up in a single room in the OBGYN ward that is actually intended as a “birthing room.”  It was nicely decorated, warm, friendly, with nice furniture and I could order my meals off of a menu.  The staff was great and really helpful.  So, I’ve been out of things since then and recovering.  I’m feeling better than I thought I would at this point, but will probably be out of work for another couple of days trying to get my strength back up.

I was pretty depressed about all of this today as I have a lot of swelling that prevents my work clothes from fitting right, and I’m hoping the swelling will go down more in the next couple of days.  I am also upset because I was supposed to be keeping up with work, but although I can get into my work e-mail and other systems at work, the VPN installed on my work laptop is not connecting to any of my network drives, severely limiting what I can actually do and IT has no idea what the problem is.  I’m putting a lot of pressure upon myself to be wonder woman and keep up but right now it’s really beyond my control.  I had DBF help me clean up a bit and hope that maybe IT can come to my house tomorrow and look at my ‘puter.

Anyway, the stress of it all, and some of the pressing stuff I have going on at work (that I cannot get to) caused me to call my mother sobbing with stress – which wasn’t really the best way to tell her that I’d had surgery, which she didn’t know about.  I really wanted to do this on my own and was doing pretty well before I realized that if I were to go to work this week, I ‘d have to wear sweatpants or something.  I’ve pretty much been in pajamas all week.  I knew I had some swelling and have been feeling very fat all week as a result, but didn’t expect that my work pants would be barely wearable.  I think that kind of pushed me over the edge this afternoon

Sigh.

I had hoped to have time over the last week to get a little stitching done, but between recovering, lots of sleep due to pain medication, and trying to keep up with work as best I could from home and hoping I made sense to customers and people at work while under the influence of meds.

The bright side of all of this is that I’m feeling pretty good.  I’m still pretty sore in some spots, but for the most part, can go without the meds and can take care of myself getting in and out of bed, showering, cooking for myself, etc.  I hoping another couple of days at home will result in me being out of work only a little over a week and not too far behind when I get back.

I do have some progress on Alpine Seasons since my last WIP pic (over a month ago) and hopefully I’ll have time to post that later on in the week.

10 thoughts on “Rough Week

  1. {{{Holly}}}. I’m sorry that you’re feeling out of sorts – both with clothes not fitting well, and with the VPN issues. I hope your IT department can get it resolved tomorrow for you.

    I hope your mom took the news of the surgery well, and wasn’t terribly disappointed that you didn’t let her know ahead of time that you were having the procedure. Does she have plans to get on a plane to visit?

    More {{{hugs}}}. I’m glad that DBF is being supportive!

  2. I’m so glad to hear all went well with the surgery and that you are recovering nicely and feeling better than expected! Great news! Surgery sucks, but it sounds like you’ve been a champ! Try not to stress about work. It will all be there when you get back, lol. Both a good thing, and a bad thing, right? heh.

    Hugs!

  3. I hope you are feeling better today, and that your VPN issues are resolved . I wish I were there to give you a hug. Everything thing will be Ok.

    Love You and GB,

    Mom

  4. {{{Holly}}} I hope as time goes on, you will heal both physically and emotionally. I hope your VPN inssues are resolved quickly so that you can get done what you need to do and not be as stressed about it.

    Eva

  5. OH MY GOSH! I just read this tonight and feel like a total boob that I didn’t respond sooner. I’m so sorry that you’re not feeling well, but know that you will be back to full speed again soon with your good outlook. Is there anything that you need? Do you need meals or errands run or stitchy supplies? Please, just ask and Chrissy and I will be there! Get better soon!

  6. Hope the recuperation continues to go smoothly – don’t fret, you’ll be back at work before you know it! I had my gallbladder removed two years ago, and was surprised how quickly I was ready to get moving and go back (I did manage to get a fair bit of stitching done after the first day or two). Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

