KT Tunstall Concert

DBF and I are headed to Chicago (third weekend in a row!) Friday after work to see KT Tunstall at The Vic.  We actually saw her at the same venue several months ago and enjoyed it so much that we decided to go again!
 

I just love her latest CD, Drastic Fantastic (click to listen to clips).  My favorites on this CD are “Saving My Face,” “Hopeless,” and “Someday Soon.”  I also like her first CD Eye to the Telescope.

One of the things I love about her concerts is that she builds up her songs by starting with a guitar riff, background vocals, drum beats, etc and records them over the top of each other using foot pedals (there’s probably some sort of technical term for this, but I don’t know what it is!).  The tracks that she records at the beginning of the song loop while she and her band play live over the top.  She uses the pedals to turn on and off the tracks throughout the song.  I’m not explaining this very well…. so I found a clip of her doing this on YouTube.com… without a band… just her.  (click the link to watch).  In the last concert we saw, she did this with a full band playing over the tracks with her… it’s a huge amount of music coming from only few people!  Amazing!  I’ve seen other concerts where they’ve done this, but not as well as Tunstall does it.  I just love her!

3 thoughts on “KT Tunstall Concert

Leave a Reply

